Help with my new MacBook

I got a new MacBook recently. One of the things I’ve always loved about Macs is how easy it has always been to migrate from an old one to a new one, but I’m having problems this time – I’d appreciate some ideas.

This is what I did when I got the new computer:

  1. I used Migration Assistant to migrate everything from my old Mac to new Mac using a wireless connection. It was all running fine, but was very very slow. It was going to take about 30 hours. I hoped the estimate was wrong and left it running all night, but the estimate was right. I quit the transfer about halfway through.
  2. I then tried making a complete Time Machine backup of my old Mac and restoring this to my new one. However, the Mac then refused to start up (endless Apple logo) because the two machines have different operating systems.
  3. I tried to use CMD+R while booting to reset the machine to factory settings, so I can start again and do the full migration no matter how long it takes. However, to do a complete reset requires that the Mac downloads the latest copy of the OS and reinstall it so that the Mac will be wiped clean with a new operating system. When I go to select the disk to install the new OS it says the disk is locked… I can’t go on.

So I’m a bit stuck. What I want is just the easiest way to completely reformat the Mac back to factory settings – and if I am already on the right track then how can I ensure the main disk is unlocked.

I haven’t done a thing with this computer yet, it’s just getting frustrating that this time it is taking ages to move on to the new device, yet it is usually so smooth with Apple. Does anyone have any suggestions please?

MacBook light shift

One response to “Help with my new MacBook

  1. Mark

    The procedure to reinstall OS X Yosemite is as follows:

    You can restore your Mac to factory settings by erasing your Mac, then reinstalling OS X using the built-in recovery disk. Before you erase, back up your essential files. If you’re installing on a portable computer, make sure your power adapter is plugged in.

    Important: To reinstall OS X, you must be connected to the Internet.
    In the menu bar, choose Apple menu > Restart. Once your Mac restarts (and the gray screen appears), hold down the Command and R keys.

    Select Disk Utility, then click Continue.

    Select your startup disk on the left, then click the Erase tab.

    Choose Mac OS Extended (Journaled) from the Format menu, enter a name, then click Erase.

    Important: Erasing the disk removes all the information from the disk. Be sure to back up the information you want to keep to an external device.
    After the disk is erased, choose Disk Utility > Quit Disk Utility.

    Select Reinstall OS X, click Continue, then follow the onscreen instructions.

    Pulled the info from the following Apple support link: https://support.apple.com/kb/PH18869?locale=en_US

    Let me know if this works for you.

Leave a Reply

