Car insurance in Brazil

I just bought a new car, though It’s not exactly a “new” car. It’s a 1961 VW Beetle, or Fusca as they are called in Brazil.

Now, I’m trying to insure myself and it seems that most insurance companies won’t insure a car that is older than 20 years, so I’d appreciate some advice from my Brazilian friends.

How can I get third-party insurance, so if I crash into another car, or a person, then my insurance company will pay them for their damage or injuries?

This is different to comprehensive insurance, where my car is covered for theft or damage – in addition to injury to others. And surely, for a third-party policy it does not matter how old the car is?

My understanding is that I don’t need any insurance at all to drive in Brazil, which is very different to London where you must be insured by law. However, even if I don’t need to insure my car, how can I still get a policy that pays if I cause injury or damage with my car? At least I know that if I cause an accident, the other people will get their damages paid.

I’m a bit confused at the moment, so if someone can help explain, I’d appreciate it.

1961 VW Beetle for sale

Leave a Reply

