Bushtucker trial for the insects

I’m a vegetarian, and I have been for a couple of decades now, but I accept that most people around me eat meat and fish. I don’t have a problem with that, but is there any philosophical reason why it is different to raise and kill an animal for food, rather than just for entertainment?

Most British people opposed fox-hunting for this reason. There was a large number of vocal people who campaigned to save the tradition of hunting foxes, but most people felt that charging around the countryside and killing an animal for no reason other than a good day out was in poor taste.

So, I’m always intrigued how the ‘bushtucker trials’ on the ITV show ‘I’m a celebrity, get me out of here’ can involve plenty of killing and eating of live animals, yet it’s all supposed to be good fun…

If it is OK to munch away on live animals on a TV show because they are ‘just’ insects then why wouldn’t it be acceptable to have some live cat or dog eating on the same show?

Ladybird on ATM

Leave a Reply

