Thank you to everyone who came!

The Ealing tweetup on Thursday was a great success. There were so many people around a big table full of food and drink this time that I never even got to say hello to a lot of people who were there… so if I didn’t say hello – sorry. I was just happy to sit at the end enjoying a Honeydew and chatting to whoever wandered past 🙂

1e did a great job sponsoring the event and I hope they found it useful to meet such a diverse bunch of local bloggers and twitter users – I was particularly pleased to finally have a chat with Ealing deputy mayor, Rupa Huq, after endless chats on the Facebook wall or messaging system.

But it was nice to see so many people who have now become regulars at this event. I feel I have started a snowball rolling and I hope this continues – I think I invited quite a few people from the tweetup to my birthday party in September, but the Fuller’s effect means I can’t remember who I invited!

The nicest thing about this is that I keep meeting neighbours in the street – people who would have been other Ealing residents anyway, but complete strangers if I had not started doing this tweetup thing. A couple of weeks ago I was with an old friend in the Red Lion and @maxtb said hello. I was waiting for a pizza outside @santamariapizza on Friday and @youeee said hi…

It’s nice to see how the virtual network of Twitter actually leads to real connections in real life.

Ealing Tweetup - July 8 2010

Leave a Reply

