Is this the best place in London to watch the World Cup?

Where are you watching the World Cup games – especially the England ones? I was thinking about this at the weekend. I just landed from Rio on Saturday and I really did not fancy the idea of going straight out to a sports bar rammed full of drinkers in England shirts cheering the lads on – I was a bit tired. I did want to watch the game somewhere though…

I had ignored the idea that my local would be showing the game though as they don’t usually cover sports – it’s one of those pubs that is a refuge from big FA cup games. But then I noticed on their Facebook that they had set up screens both indoors and outdoors in the garden just for the World Cup! So, I headed over to the Rose & Crown in Ealing, where I could eat food in the garden (they have a BBQ going when it is sunny), enjoy a few pints of Fullers beer (£10 a bottle in São Paulo so I appreciated local prices), and watch the England game amongst a friendly crowd with table service for pints so nobody has to stop watching the game…

The best thing was that it was crowded, but not rammed… it was possible to find a seat and have some food watching the game with a good pub atmosphere, rather than some of the other local pubs where the England experience would be standing ten deep in fans with pints sloshing all over.

I know where I’m planning to enjoy a few more of the World Cup games… First England game of World Cup 2010

One response to “Is this the best place in London to watch the World Cup?

  1. Good pub, Good ale, Good Choice

Leave a Reply

