LSBU all weekend

I spent most of Sunday at the Latimer house conference centre in Buckinghamshire at a residential offsite for the London South Bank University MBA.

I was talking about outsourcing. I had an hour to speak and I did not have much guidance from the university this time. Usually I spend a lot of time planning the sessions, and last year I spent all weekend at Latimer. This year, there were a whole range of reasons, but it boiled down to the fact that I could not get together with the LSBU staff.

So, I had an hour to talk on outsourcing. I tried to just make it an interactive conversation with the students and to focus on the pros and cons – so it might be something useful for their research, as they still need to decide what area to write about for their dissertation.

It was nice to find that after I had spoken, many of the staff and students said it was not long enough and we should have scheduled the talk much earlier in the weekend – rather than Sunday morning when everyone was hungover. That’s a nice reaction because it’s not a subject many people would enjoy on a Sunday morning.

I had been planning to try doing some very interactive work using Twitter, but that might have to wait for next year… and given that I’m about to start a new blog focused on social media I might speak on several subjects!

I noticed some of the students had uploaded photos from the weekend to Facebook, marked with the title Much Better with Alcohol – as their MBA weekend…

Leave a Reply

