Thinking Allowed

It’s the European and local council elections here in the UK today. I just went down to the polling station just before 9pm to vote. I’ve had a busy day that started with a 7.30am meeting and I haven’t managed to vote until now. Fortunately, you can vote at anytime up to 10pm.

I was smiling as I walked in to the polling station tonight because I was listening to the ‘Thinking Allowed’ podcast on my iPod. It’s a Radio 4 show about sociology that I really enjoy. It covers all kinds of topics related to society in general and is well worth trying… but this week they were talking about the nature of elections and the apathy of most voters. It made me grin anyway as I was listening to this debate walking up the steps to the polling station, voting card in hand…

Leave a Reply

